New Mexico

As a former Vice-Royalty of New Spain, New Mexico has the highest percentage of Hispanics and the second highest percentage of Native Americans of any state. Since its territorial days, Santa Fe has been the capitol. New Mexico became a state in 1912. The state government is dominated by Democrats. The state's official website has more information. And click on the navigation menu on the left for news, calendar events and other organizations related to New Mexico.

Elected Officials
Senator Pete V. Domenici (R)
Senator Jeff Bingaman (D)
Representative Steve Pearce (R)
Representative Heather Wilson (R)
Representative Tom Udall (D)

Governor Bill Richardson (D)

Lieutenant Governor Diane Denish (D)

Secretary of State Mary Herrera (D)

Attorney General Gary King (D)

State Auditor Hector Balderos (D)

State Land Commissioner Pat Lyons(R)

State Treasurer James Lewis (D)

The New Mexico State Legislature is comprised of a 70-seat House of Representatives and a 42-seat Senate.

See more:

Comments are closed.